Explaining TNR to Children

As some of you know I am in the process of writing a children’s book. The book will tell the story of a feral cat and the dog she befriended. As such I will need to briefly describe TNR. Briefly, to children, who may or may not be aware (in a child sense) of how many homeless cats there are, how many are killed in shelters each year simply because there are not enough homes. I am trying to educate about feral cats to help make more people–children and their parents–aware of feral cats while telling them a beautiful story. So I don’t want to get bogged down in details about TNR, why it is essential and all those details you need to explain to your neighbors or people with a feral cat situation.

I am stumped on this one. Partially because I have spent so many years explaining TNR in great detail to dozens of people. Partially because I am a stickler for details and I love to get all the facts in. I blame the journalist in me for that one. So I am turning to fellow TNR people to ask, how do you explain the basics of TNR to a child? Have you had to explain it to a child of your own? Please let me know. I am looking for some methods and ideas to get my juices flowing. Leave a comment below and let me know what methods you use to explain something like TNR, or even the importance of spaying and neutering to a small child.

Leave a Reply

