Exciting Cat Week Ahead

little-black-23

My Little Black, sitting on our table.

It is going to be a great cat-themed week!  Tomorrow is National Feral Cat Day, which is one of the best days of the year. Any time I can celebrate my feral girls  or have an excuse to educate others about feral cats I am a happy girl. I started this blog as an excuse to talk about my feral cats, as well to educate others about ferals. This week I wrote an article about National Feral Cat Day for Examiner.com. You should check it out.

Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to trap recently, so I am celebrating National Feral Cat Day by spreading the word and educating as many people as possible. If you see any feral cats, now generally revered to as community cats, in your neighborhood contact your local animal shelter for help trapping them. You can find a local shelter with a feral friends program by visiting Alley Cat Allies. The only way we can get the population under control is by taking action with TNR. Change starts at the bottom, with the actions of dedicated individuals. Spend this October 16 helping community cats by donating, educating, or trapping.

In addition to National Feral Cat Day this week, I am looking forward to Tree House Humane Society’s Black Cat Ball, with their special guest Jackson Galaxy. That’s right Jackson Galaxy, Cat Daddy, Star of of Animal Planet’s My Cat From Hell will be in Chicago on October 18 and I have a chance to meet him. I am so, so excited about this. I scrapped my pennies together just so I could attend. Jackson Galaxy is a super talented, gifted man. I am thrilled to have the possibility to meet him and to listen to him speak. Even if I don’t get the chance to meet him personally (something I doubt will happen), it will be worth the money and time to hear him speak in person. He has done so much to help cats, and help individuals understand their cats better. Having just finished his book Cat Daddy, something I will blog about later, I have even more appreciation for what he does. Check back later this week for my blog on Tree House’s Black Cat Ball and Jackson Galaxy, as well as lots of pictures!

Leave a Reply

