Benefits of Being The Cat Lady

I am affectionately known as the cat lady at work. Since I work at a pet supply store, this is a good thing. My assistant manager calls me her Cat Guru, which makes me just a bit too pleased. I would love to be a Cat Guru. It would be simply amazing to have all the knowledge!  Part of why I started this (frequently neglected blog) was to share and expand my knowledge of cats. Over the past week or two I have helped several individuals with their difficult cat problems and it felt wonderful. There really is nothing like knowing you have made a difference in how someone cares for their pet!

katie-113

Clearly I am a cat magnet.

This past fall I read Jackson Galaxy’s Cat Daddy and kept thinking “YES! Yes, that is me! Yes, I want to do that! That would be wonderful to make a difference in kitty lives.” I started my job at a pet food store at the same time and serve as the resident cat expert; I spend my “free” time working with the kitty rescue group. I follow other kitty blogs, read cat magazines. I can’t afford to formally return to school again right now, but perhaps one day.

I would love tips and suggestions any of my fellow cat people have for great resources. I want to learn all I can about nutrition and behavior. I have some formal behavior training which definitely needs strengthening. I have even less nutritional knowledge, though that is growing every day as I work with pet foods! I have a fair share of basic medical knowledge, between my own senior cats and my time working in medical facilities. So all in all, I think I have a good start.

I think my resolution for the coming year is to gain as much cat knowledge as possible so I can indeed by a Cat Guru and The Cat Lady.  Fellow cat people, please share your resources with me! Favorite books or websites? Anyone I should be reading? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Benefits of Being The Cat Lady

  1. Connie says:

    websites, feline-nutrition.org and catinfo.org Books I am constantly recommending Cat vs Cat for people who have more than one cat and need help understanding the cat social structure.

  2. Layla Morgan Wilde says:

    Keep doing what you’re doing. It sounds like you have the passion and if so, one thing will organically lead to another. Thanks for visiting us at Cat Wisdom 101. I belong to the CWA, the Cat Writers’ Assocation. The 200+ members are a great resource.

Leave a Reply

