Progress, Worry and A New Name!

I have rechristened Marius “Crackerjack.” He will most likely go by Jax or CJ though.  I kept trying names and nothing seemed right.  Ritz was good for a while but it just seemed wrong. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but it wasn’t the right name. I almost got annoyed with it after a while.  I really loved the name Pip or Pippin, but it seems too small for him. He is a big, solid cat even if he is a big baby deep inside. Pippin just didn’t fit. Crackerjack seems just right though.  It continues the food theme I seem to have going with cats–my parents’ first cat was Twinkie, then there is Muffin and now Crackerjack–and the “c” theme we have with Chaucer aka Chauncey and Crash.  It is also a great tribute to my grandparents. My maternal grandparents had a cat named Crackers, who Crackerjack resembles. I also have fond memories of visiting my paternal grandparent’s house and snacking on caramel corn or Crackerjacks! So it is a perfect name for him.

In other news, Jax’s abscess seems to be healing and he has forgiven me for taking him to the vet. He parades around the room and even lets me pet him for a little bit while he is eating. He will approach me if he has to get past me, or is prancing. Sometimes he accidentally gets near me while eating. He jumps when he discovers how close he is and then retreats. As much as Jax loves playing he still won’t approach me to play. I assume this is because he spends all his time playing sprawled across the floor. He never stands or sits to play, he always, ALWAYS lays down. I can cat his interest and he will flop right on the floor, roll around on his sides and play with me for a few minutes but he never chases or leaps. He also doesn’t seem to move off his blanket very much and simply refuses to jump up on to the cat tree I brought in for him. All of which makes me wonder if he has a problem with his back leg. I noticed the first time he was walking on the floors that he slips and slides a bit. I thought this was due to callused  paws walking on hard wood floors for the first time. Even I slide around on the floors!  But he seems to not want to stand or walk any more than possible. He will slink around the halls on his occasional adventures out of the room, and likes to stand on his tip toes to sniff out the window though.  Watching him walk or stand I notice he prefers not to just stand, he sits or lies down. He does seem to have occasional odd gaits or hold his rear right foot at an odd angle. I am loath to take him to the vet though. I don’t want to cause another regression, nor do I have the money to spend on him. I am going to wait a few more days and see what he does. I don’t want him to be in pain if his leg is messed up, yet I don’t want to rush off, stress him out and cause regression.

sneakers-2013-18Jax spends his days stretched out on a blanket in the corner of the room. Well, it was in a cage in the corner of the room until last night, when I took the cage away.  He spends his days on the blanket though, which I had previously attributed to his boredom or nerves. Perhaps though, it is due to a bad leg. The poor boy. One more reason I am glad to have him inside.  I do worry this poor boy is too bored, too scared, injured or something. He won’t play with his toys unless I am in the room. He won’t play very much with me when I am here. He just wants to lay on his blanket and eat. I have even resorted to opening the door to his room, thinking perhaps he would enjoy more stimulation or even want to go exploring. Nope. He might leave but he comes right back. Poor love.

Over all though Jax and I have made some great progress. We have gotten to the point where I can crawl up to him and rub his chin for a moment before he remembers he’s not supposed to like that. I mentioned that he no longer has his cage; I don’t think he even noticed it was gone. He seems to be happy without the cage. I finally found a little toy he enjoys playing with on his own, sometimes anyways. It’s a furry little mouse. He picks it up and shakes it around in the cutest way possible. He purrs at the slightest interaction. I can pet him while he eats, at least until he decides he doesn’t really like petting after all. He is getting very comfortable with me.  The next step is to let my mom feed him and spend more time with him so he can start to feel more comfortable with other people.

Crackerjack could use your positive energy though. I am concerned about him and his lack of interest in anything, as well as his lack of movement.

3 thoughts on “Progress, Worry and A New Name!

  1. Janet@TheCatOnMyHead says:

    At least he’s out from behind the couch, has a permanent name and is letting you pet him. We are worried about his favoring his legs and hope you can get it looked into very soon. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Josette

Leave a Reply

