I’m Back!

Wow, it’s been a long time since I wrote anything. It’s amazing how time gets away from you.  I had planned to take a bit of time off in April so I could focus my energies on Camp NaNoWriMo ( National Novel Writing Month, but in “camp” form, meaning not nearly as many words.)  I never meant to take almost an entire month off from blogging though. Sadly, life has other plans for us sometimes.   In the middle of the month the basement of my house got flooded with four feet of river water/sewage. Despite our efforts at pumping it out, the water sat there for days because there was no place else for it to go. We spent the better part of a week with no running water, no toilets, no heat (and of course it got cold that week) on the main floor. The house was cold and smelly. We spent time going back and forth between a hotel, and the house. It was an insanely stressful time for me. Beyond dealing with my own stress I had to comfort the cats, who could absolutely sense the stress in the house.  Poor Crackers went back to hiding for a few days because of all the stress and despair flying around here.

Since the flood happened it feels like I have been playing catch up. Everything got put on hold that week we were in a hotel. There was no writing, there was no reading, there was no anything that makes Katie feel like Katie. It sucked. Still coping with the aftermath, our basement in destroyed and what little didn’t get destroyed by the flood is hanging out in the garage.  But the worst is over. Camp NaNoWriMo is over and I won on a technicality. But I won! I did it. And now, now it is time to get back to Tails from the Street, where I really belong.

Now that I have bored you with my own personal saga, let me share some cat updates.

Crackers is thriving as an indoor cat. He loves to sleep on beds, snuggle next to legs at night. He loves when I pet him and is slowly coming around to others petting him. He enjoys being combed, which is great since he has a thick coat that is shedding everywhere. I noticed the other night that his paw pads are starting to lose the worst of the callouses from being outside. I moved his cat perch back into my room so he can look out the front window and this has become his new obsession. He lounges there for hours at a time sniffing the air, watching birds and other things that only kitties can see.  Unfortunately his other new favorite pastime is to wake up around 3 or 4 in the morning and look for something to play with. This wouldn’t be so bad if he didn’t go seeking out Muffin to play with her. He is still very polite and backs off when she growls, but he is very persistent. She will be like “go away” and he goes away, then five seconds later comes back like “what about now? Want to play now? Each time he comes back  Muffin gets herself more and more worked up. I think he kinda likes it. He gets a response out of her.

Muffin has always been my little drama queen, growling and hissing way out of proportion when Sam or Crash so much as looked at her. They loved to do things like look at her or move closer to her just to get a response and I think Crackers is doing the same thing. While I feel bad for Muffin, it really is all her own doing. She growls and hisses at Crackers simply for sitting on a chair or the floor when she wants to walk past him. Half the time he doesn’t know she is there or is uninterested in her until she starts making noise. Then he gets all interested. I am working on ways to resolve their dilemma.

Crash isn’t overly fond of Crackers either, despite the fact that he allows Crackers to sleep on my bed while he is there.  Crash has no problem bonking Crackers on the head if he gets to close or bothers him. Crackers will then go “ok, gotcha” and walk away. I am sure part of the reason Crash is not chasing Crackers off the bed at night is because Crash is not doing so well, medically wise, and knows Crackers to be a much stronger, healthier cat (even if Crackers doesn’t know this about himself). Crash’s thyroid levels are high, despite medicine daily. He is slowly but steadily losing weight, a problem which will hopefully be corrected when we get his thyroid straightened out. He is looking old and decrepit, but acting quite happy. I worry so much about him, between his displeasure at the medicines he gets daily, and the disruption of Crackers. I don’t get to spend nearly as much time with Crash as I would like. He doesn’t come upstairs much anymore. Not sure how much of this is because of Crackers and how much is due to his arthritis and old age.  My love is old and it is hard for me to deal with.

I am hoping to get at least a post a week up for the coming weeks while I try to get life back “under control.”

One thought on “I’m Back!

  1. Janet@TheCatOnMyHead says:

    Katie, That surely is an ordeal you have been through. Our mommy knows how hard it is when kitties get up in years. You certainly seem to be a loving kitty caregiver which is the best any of us can ask for. We’re keeping you and your meowmates in our prayers. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Misty May, Mauricio, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Josette

Leave a Reply

