Reflecting on Six Months!

As I was loading picture’s for last week’s Wordless Wednesday, I noticed a picture of Sneakers in my Media Library. This was a picture of him back when he was Marius, before he came inside. It made me think back on  just how far he has come. A mere 6 months ago (give or take a week) he was an outside “feral” cat. Today, he is a spoiled house cat! I can’t believe it’s been 6 months! On one hand it feels like I just brought him in, as Muffin is still growling at him at night; we haven’t solved the problem of keeping him from getting bored; he still takes off running from my dad, the doorbell and scary noises; he still likes to bite and I just haven’t quite accepted that there are three cats again. On the other hand it seems like it has been much longer than six months. He sleeps in bed with me, he took right to all soft beds and couches actually; he is quite at home looking out the window from the cat tree in my bedroom; he has developed his own little routines; he has adopted wonderfully to getting pets from certain people–he loves to rub on legs!

All things considered though,  Sneakers and I have come a long way in 6 months! After 3 months of not sleeping through the night due to cat growling I think I have finally solved the majority of that problem. Muffin would sit in the hallway making the most dramatic growling and hissing I have ever heard, even though Sneakers was not around. This would then catch his attention, and apparently made him think she wanted to play (hey, I never said he was the brightest light in the pack!). This would then make Muffin growl and hiss even more. Which then continued on for at least half an hour as he found different corners to hide behind. I think Muffin just wanted access to the food and water bowls in my room! Since adding some to the hall outside my bedroom, she seems to be less dramatic at night, meaning he doesn’t try to chase her, and I get to sleep through the night.  She also seems more relaxed around him during the day. The smallest changes make the biggest difference sometimes.

I write this to look back on my time with Sneakers so far, but also to encourage others to consider opening their homes and hearts to shy cats. Shy cats can be wonderful companions, even more grateful and loving than their equally outgoing counterparts (don’t believe me? Look at the eyes Sneakers gives me in the last picture below!) They are delicate flowers that just need the right nurturing to grow into loving companions. Sure you might not get a lap cat (Sneakers is just leaning to sit on me when I sleep. 16 lbs of cat on my chest, not fun), but you will get a loving, loyal companion. Which is why we have pets in the first place right? Don’t give up hope if it takes 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, a year or more. With the right love, play and food therapy your shy cat will come around to you in his or her way.  You will feel so blessed in the end!

As crazy as he makes me sometimes, I can’t imagine not having this big hunk of a cat with a teeny tiny voice in my life. helped fill the void Sam left, and will keep me grounded when Muffin and Crash pass on. (Though, I still say Muffin will live forever.) I am so blessed he came to me. As I type, he is curled up on his cat perch next to my desk, sleeping and giving me glares when I bother him with petting!  I have documented Sneakers Journey in four pictures below. He has come such a long way, in the 2 years since I first spotted him. To think that had I not been looking for a missing feral cat I wouldn’t have found him. What twists life gives us!  I hope one day he tells me his story before our lives crossed. Enjoy the pictures, its time for me to run around the house with a cat toy so Sneakers can get his daily exercise.

The first time I saw Sneakers, March of 2011

The first time I saw Sneakers, March of 2011

Sneakers back in February.

Sneakers back in February 2013

Socializing Cats

Coming out of his shell, March 2013

sneakers-2013-40

Here’s Sneakers now.

2 thoughts on “Reflecting on Six Months!

  1. Kitties Blue says:

    What a lovely story about Sneakers. I hope he and Muffin eventually come to terms with loving with the same person and sharing your attention and affection. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

Leave a Reply

