Backwards and Forwards! Bring on 2014!

Just a few more hours for 2013, from where I sit. To those of you already enjoying 2014, I hope you had a wonderful, safe night! So much has happened in the past year, I don’t know where to begin with my reflections.  Personally I have been through the ringer emotionally, and most of that has had to do with the cats.

sneakers-2013-27

Sneakers went from this…

The year started with Sneakers coming inside and the turmoil that was socializing him. Almost a year later he is the sweetest, most loving cat I have ever known. He is still terrified of my dad but he seems to enjoy life inside and certainly loves the petting, soft beds and regular meals. Sneakers has some habits that need to be worked on, but when it comes down to it we all have SOMETHING that we could improve right? That’s the point of  New Year’s resolutions is it not? Crash was quite sick for a good part of the year, apparently from his thyroid being out of whack; which is crazy because he was on thyroid medication! He broke his tooth in half, which lead to extensive dental surgery. Which was just not fun for any of us. Fingers crossed he seems to be in a good place right now. He is a happy old man with an adorable snaggle-toothed smile!

...to this!

…to this!

Muffin on the other hand has thrown me into a tailspin with her latest bought of illness. muffin-48My little girl, who we always joked was immortal and going to out live all of us (because she is just that stubborn and cranky sometimes) was at death’s door this year. Sadly, I am not sure how far away from it she currently is. She just started chemo for small cell lymphoma. It will take about a week to know if it is working for her at all. In the mean time I have to keep her on some extreme supportive care, as my poor doll just isn’t eating very well. She is skin and bones right now, having lost most of her body mass (she was skinny to begin with!) I did get to enjoy one more Christmas with her. Please keep her in your prayers, thoughts, paw circles, and positive energy. I have had many a night this last few weeks where I have broken down in hysterics over the thought that it was time to let her go. I can only hope we are turning a corner–she is eating a little more, stretching out when she sleeps and displaying some behavior I haven’t seen in weeks.

This past year saw me try to take on more work with cat rescue, then step back from cat rescue completely. Well, I guess you never actually leave the world of cat rescue do you? It is something that lives inside your soul and your blood. I have taken steps away from that world though, steps to help keep me balanced. I then immediately took on a TNR project. Like I said, rescue work is in my blood.

I ramped up my efforts with the blog, then decided to leave completely, then stuck around after all that! I have to find a new direction for Tails from the Street in 2014. Perhaps I will see if Sneakers or one of the other kitties is interested in doing more writing. I made many friends on Twitter and in the blogosphere! I want to give a great big shout out to every one of you who has read my blog this past year. I hope to continue writing something worth reading in the coming year and enjoying more of your blogs along the way!

Here is to many wonderful things in 2014! I wish you all love, peace, joy, hope and dreams in the coming year! May you and your furry ones have health and many wonderful days together.

Leave a Reply

