Catching Up

 

I am easily overwhelmed by life. When something happens, I have a hard time not letting my life be consumed by it. I find it difficult to balance the many parts that make up my life. Which means something usually gets dropped. I share these personal details about myself to explain, in part, why I have been gone for so long.

I had a few cat related incidents that, ironically, kept me from blogging. My favorite hospital cat at work died very suddenly. Shortly afterwards our other hospital cat died. Then I started a months long struggle to catch Mama Kitty. I was worried about her health and decided she needed to see a vet.

Jingo ( on the left) and Bizzy were two very different and very amazing cats.

Not long after I trapped Mama Kitty, I added a new kitty to my crew. Fuzzy George joined us in late summer 2016.  I adopted him because he has some special needs and was going to have a hard time being adopted from a shelter. I just didn’t realize how special his needs were.  It took several exhausting, emotional months of behavior training, medication and adjusting before life settled down again. His story would have been a good one to share as it was happening. However, I was too tired and emotional to share it. Especially since I didn’t know how it would end. I will tell his story soon.

fuzzy-george-and-sneakers-7

Friends! Fuzzy George and Sneakers get along wonderfully.

There were several other personal issues that kept me from blogging. Family issues, lost friends, and the usual day to day grind.  I needed to retreat and do some self-care as well. I got wrapped up trying to do too much for Tails from the Street. I was a nervous, angry wreck. That didn’t help me, Sneakers, or the blog. So I took an unplanned and unannounced leave of absence.

I’m getting back on the horse though. Because writing and cats are in my blood. I have many stories to share. Fuzzy George has a story that needs to be told. There are other cats who need me to tell their stories too. So here I am. Back in the saddle, writing. Going slowly so I don’t crash and burn again.

 

4 thoughts on “Catching Up

  1. Jean Dion says:

    Taking a break is often the very best thing you can do, especially if it keeps you from burning out completely. It sounds like you were dealing with a lot of difficult losses and changes and challenges all at once, and I don’t blame you one bit for stepping away for awhile. But I’m glad you’re back. Looking forward to hearing more.

    Jean from Welcome to the Menagerie

    • Kat says:

      Yes I needed to take a break. I was getting too upset about certain potential topics. Then life just happened. I needed the time to care for myself. Excited and scared to be back at this.

  2. kittiesblue says:

    We really are so happy to see you and glad you didn’t completely give up on the blog as so many do. We are so sorry for your losses. We know how hard it is to cope. Fuzzy George is adorable, and we look forward to hearing his story! XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Angel Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth, Calista Jo and Cooper Murphy

Leave a Reply

