Selfie Sunday with Sneakers

sneakers-16-11

Sneakers is clearly not amused at the idea of Selfie Sunday.  In fact, he is not amused by much these days. Poor dude has a bit of chin acne. His poor chin is all infected and has a few swollen spots. It is rather painful and he hates my attempts to clean his chin.  His acne came out of nowhere, skipping the black head phase and going straight to painful pustules. Poor love.Thankfully I noticed it before it got too serious. So with a bit of luck, some extra clean bowls and a round of antibiotics, it will clear up quickly. I am using the wipes to clean off Fuzzy George’s chin as he also has acne, just not pustules.

In the mean time, Sneakers runs from me whenever we are both in the bedroom (I had to trap him here twice for pain medication and cleaning his chin off.). He gets very concerned if I walk towards him, and squeaked in protest when I did finally manage to pick him up. Instead of sleeping on the bed with me, he has taken to sleeping on the chair in my room. I think this is from a combination of fear and a desire to protest his treatment. He does this every time I have to give him medication, the goof ball. I can’t blame him really, I mean who wants medication? And he did spend several years of his life pretending to be feral. In the almost 4 years he has lived with us, he never really gave up the fear that I am going to turn on him. I am sure the medication feels like an utter betrayal.

As far as dealing with two cats with chin acne, I think I got lucky. I ditched plastic dishes years ago after Crash had some ongoing battles with acne.  Stainless steel food bowl and a ceramic water bowl are the only things we use around here right now. I will admit I am horrible about keeping their kibble bowls clean, which is probably how the chin acne happened. Oh well. Lesson learned. It certainly won’t happen again. And now that I know that Sneakers just goes straight to infection, I can keep a closer eye on his chin to keep this from happening again.

 

cat4-001

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

7 thoughts on “Selfie Sunday with Sneakers

  1. erinthecatprincess says:

    Hi. That is a timely warning to us all to be watchful for these things. I for one never realized it could skip a stage or transit so very quickly from to another. Onto nice things, that is a Lovely selfie Sneakers has shared with us today, despite the treatment anxiety!
    Purrs, Erin

    • Kat says:

      I didn’t know it could skip a step either. Leave it to my cats to go straight to infection. I am so grateful I caught it before his chin got swollen and gross.

  2. kittiesblue says:

    We are so happy to see you blogging again, and we were delighted to see you on the hop. We are particularly sorry for Sneakers and Fuzzy George. Mom and Dad’s very first cat had chin acne, but as soon as they got rd of the plastic bowls it never came back. Do you think Sneakers might have an allergy to something else? We will send purrs and prayers to the boys with hopes they’ll be better really soon. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Angel Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth, Calista Jo and Cooper Murphy

    • Kat says:

      I think he picked up the bacteria from Fuzzy George. Fuzzy George is a gross kitty. I love him, and he is filthy. I also have to get better about washing their dry food bowls more frequently. Since they are used over night, I can’t just toss them in the dish washer. I am glad to be back to blogging and glad to share Fuzzy George’s story.

  3. Dash Kitten says:

    You are on the ball! You know the chin acne cause and how to stop it – good stuff!! Our Harvey just gets black bits and then it fades – he has mostly ceramic bowls tho’

    He doesn’t like ANY medication, Harvey, so we can sympathise with trying to get Sneakers well! He has you so has someone good on his side * high paw *

    • Kat says:

      My Crash had some horrible acne. Mostly just black bits but sometimes white heads. I have never had a kitty with pustules before. Glad we got it before they got too bad! I’ve seen some kitties with very bad pustules.

Leave a Reply

