Love Your Pet Day

Happy Sunday!  Tomorrow is Love Your Pet Day.  There are so many ways that we can show our pets we love them. How many of us have spent money on toys or bed we know our cats aren’t going to use, simply because they are adorable? I know I have spent so much money on things I WANT my cats to use or like. And they never do. Many of us choose food and treats as the best way to show them we love them. Giving your cat a treat every time they do something cute, or meow at you, or even just as a nightly snack, is an easy way to show your cat you love them. It is also, unfortunately, a reason why many cats are overweight. (Yes, Fuzzy George, I’m looking at you).

20170219_1358351

He NEEDED to get in the empty bag.

Many cats, like Fuzzy George, will beg for food or treats simply because they are bored. A great way to show your cat love without making him overweight is to play with him. I have made it a point lately to make sure that Sneakers and Fuzzy George get at least 15-20 minutes of play time a day. It helps us bond, keeps Fuzzy George out of trouble, and keeps their minds sharp. It makes them happy too. The best part is they don’t care if I am watching tv while I flip the toy around. All they want is my attention.

sneakers-116

Do you ever just look at your cat and feel overwhelmed by love?

Another way to show your cats you love them is to take them to the vet. This can be expensive, I know. It can be stressful. Trust me, I know this one; Sneakers hides under a blanket at the vet, Fuzzy George has to be sedated to be touched and Sam used to turn into a wild beast at the vet. I’ve rearranged all the furniture in the house trying to catch Muffin to stuff her in the carrier. I know just how stressful vet visits can be. And it certainly isn’t something your cat will take as a sign of love. However, yearly visits are the best way to keep your cat healthy and prevent discomfort. Cats are experts at hiding pain, it’s not to their evolutionary benefit to appear weak or painful.  Cats also age faster than humans do, so it is easy for diseases of old age to appear quickly (which is why senior cats should see their vet every 6 months). Plus, cats can’t talk to us. They can’t tell us they hurt. They can’t tell us their tummy feels weird when they eat, or it hurts when they urinate. So we have to do the best we can by them.

I used to be one of those people who only took her cats to the vet when they were sick. I missed so many signs that Crash and Muffin were not well. I didn’t start treating their arthritis until well after they had developed it. I will also always wonder if Sam had more preventative care if we could have caught whatever killed him before it killed him. My cats went years being uncomfortable. That’s not how I want to show my cats I love them.

There are so many different ways to show your cat you love him. Some people buy toys. Some feed treats.  Some do a little of everything. I think my favorite way to show Sneakers I love him is to let him sleep on my chest at night. That’s 12lbs of cat on my diaphragm, right up in my face. I generally wake up sore and slightly sneezy, but we are both happy. And at the end of the day, that is all that matters.

 

 

Leave a Reply

