After my last post, I realized I wasn’t ready to give up on Little Black and Mama just yet. I was concerned because I was unable to get Little Black in to the vet right away. I justified it by saying she has waited this long, what’s another week. Really, I know this is just an excuse and a way to make myself feel better. However it has been too busy at work for me to squeeze her in. Between shortage of staff due to spring break, and injury plagued staff, I just couldn’t justify forcing her into the schedule.

So I spent the past week and a half acclimating Little Black to the humane trap. It has been ages since I tried trapping anyone, and as such the trap has not been out much. I wanted to make sure Little Black did not feel threatened by the trap before trying to catch her. I  started by setting up the trap on the deck and rigging it so it won’t shut behind anyone that walks inside.  Then I started feeding the girls most of their meals next to the trap.   I put the food right at the side of the trap, so they had to accept the trap without actually going in the trap for food.

After a few days of this, I started trap rehearsals.  I find trap rehearsals to be so important and a great way to get reluctant kitties used to the trap. Of course it is not always a feasible option-if you don’t know the cats’ schedule, or it is imperative the cat be removed right away.   Since the trap was already out and rigged to not close, I simply had to add a plate of stinky wet food. Then I went inside and waited.

Since Little Black is somewhat familiar with the trap, and somewhat fearless, I put the plate pretty far in. If you are rehearsing with a nervous kitty, it is best to start by putting the food close to the front of the trap.  As usual, both cats circled the trap, trying to find a way to get the food without going in the trap. After a few moments of this Little Black pops herself into the trap, eats unmolested and then backs herself out.  Check out the slideshow below to see how trap rehearsal works.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Everything is in place for me to trap Little Black and take her to the vet on Wednesday. With any luck, this will all be happening while you are reading this.  Please cross your fingers, toes and paws for us.  I am very stressed about trying to trap her and managing a to get myself out the door for work at the same time.

One thought on “

Leave a comment